Book bulletin

Not much has been going on lately, except my battle against Oversleeping Disorder, which has made me nocturnal.

I am trying to be one of those people who wake up at 6 a.m., calmly have toast and tea, and can even have time to sprint in the mornings. And when they get to work they’re oozing creative energy.

I can’t do that.

I am silly putty afternoon girl who sluggishly downs carbohydrates from 1 p.m. to midnight and rarely sees her family except for weekends. I mean, I haven’t seen my little brother for 2 weeks and we live in the same house.

Besides that, I’ve been starting to read a variety of books all at once. I start one, drop it for a while and start another book, then read another one when I’m bored.

Then I slowly plow through the chapters until I finish them, in no particular order, one by one.

I recently finished Dan Brown’s “The Lost Symbol”, which is boring in parts but piquing in others.

If I were to rank it, it would be between “Angels & Demons” (below “Da Vinci Code”) and above “Digital Fortress.”

It is idealistic in the way that it puts forward beliefs about the mind’s power over matter, but the materialist in me says, well matter comes first.

It sort of defeated the Mason’s revolutionary potential (some of our country’s greatest revolutionaries were Masons) and reduced it to philosophical joo-joo.

And I couldn’t help but imagine which actors or actresses would play the new characters in the book because definitely, it will be made into a movie.

My suggestions: Tom Hanks as Robert Langdon, Kim Jong Il as Ms. Inoue Sato, Catherine Zeta Jones as Kate Solomon, the guy who playes Xerxes in 300 as Malakh, Anthony Hopkins as Peter Solomon, Gollum as the Dean and Morgan Freeman as Warren Bellamy.

I also started reading “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” by J.K. Rowling, because it appeared in a box sent by Tito Manoling.

I intend to finish the entire series, for closure.

It just seems a shame to miss out on something you began in your childhood but stopped reading because it suddenly made some Brit woman fillthy rich and you poor.

Anyway, I have trouble reading it now because Harry Potter seems to having his period at this stage in his life, following the trauma of that TriWizard tournament thing.

I was also disappointed seeing Cho Chang in my mind’s eye. Couldn’t she be prettier? Like a less vampy Devon Aoki.

Anyway, the plot reminds me of Martial Law, when our own Lord Voldemort started killing wantonly. I’d like to see how little Harry Potter and his friends launch a rebellion.

Meanwhile, I am also currently in the later chapters of “The Time-Traveler’s Wife” by Niffenegger.

It has a slow and confusing start that sort of turned off my Mom, who thought it was your regular B-rate romance novel a la Nicholas Sparks’s “The Notebook.”

Henry and Clare sound the same throughout the novel, such that they don’t seem so distinct from one another.

Did the writer intend this? I mean, does it mean Henry and Clare are of one voice and one mind, hence, perfect together? Or is it ineptness on the author’s part?

I like the references to A.S. Byatt’s “Possession”, which I finished last year and enjoyed because of the lyrical writing. Such decadent language!

Towards the end of the book, you get a sickening feeling of narrowness in these peoples’ lives, like they’ve suddenly become more desperate than interesting.

As usual, Time Traveler’s Wife was adapted into a movie. Maybe if I watch the film, it will do justice to their story.

Also, I have begun the first few chapters of “Empire Falls” (I was attracted by the Pulitzer Prize Winner seal at the front”) and a book called “Saints and Sinners” by one of my favorite authors of all time, Tom Holt.

3 thoughts on “Book bulletin

  1. Alas, I, too, am a sluggish afternoon girl who downs nothing but carbs, except that I start eating as early as 10am then finish way past midnight :|Lulz, Kim Jong Il in a movie based on a Dan Brown novel FTW :DRight now I'm reading Murakami's "Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman." You can't go wrong with Murakami, Tinsy, you should try him 😛

  2. Hahahah. Unfortunately, I haven't read those Murakami stuff yet. Are they good?I've only read Kafka on the Shore, Wind-up Bird Chronicle and The Elephant Vanishes.When you say "try" him, you mean like…. mmmmmm, TRY HIM. hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

